

## **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

### Minutes

Date: Monday, 3 October 2022

**Time**: 10.00am

**Venue**: Railway Building No 3, Rora Street, Te Kuiti

Present: Trevor Irwin Member

Robyn Kehoe Member

Alaina Goulding Epic Cycle Adventures

John Stock Member Ewen Fraser Member

Lynley Twyman Timber Trail Champion

Victoria Dawson Timber Trail Shuttles & Bike Hire Frances Rata-Hughes Te Hau Kainga o Pureora Inc Soc

Graham Kimber Dept of Conservation
Jessie Sinnamon Dept of Conservation
Bill Holloway Holloway Earthmoving

Janene New Member

Guy Whitaker Timber Trail Lodge Russell Malone Timber Trail Lodge

John Gaukrodger Member

Rachael Dey Blackfern Lodge (via zoom)

**Apologies:** Damita Mita Member

Dierdre Nagle Member
Christaan Burgess Ngati Raerae

**Resolution:** That the apologies be received.

Moved by: John Stock
Seconded by: Alging Goulding

Seconded by: Alaina Goulding CARRIED

**Karakia:** Frances Rata-Hughes said a karakia to open the meeting.

Welcome: Trevor Irwin welcomed members to the meeting and thanked them for attending.

Call for General Business: No items were raised for discussion.

## Minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting held 21 March 2022:

**Resolution:** That the Minutes of the Friends of the Timber Trail Inc Annual General Meeting

held on 21 March 2022, be received.

Moved by: Lynley Twyman

Seconded by: Trevor Irwin CARRIED

### **Chair's Annual Report:**

Trevor Irwin spoke to the Annual Report. He thanked the committee and volunteers for their achievements during the year, and outgoing member, Bruce Maunsell for his contributions during his tenure on the committee.

**Resolution:** That the Chair's Annual Report for the period ending 30 June 2022 be received.

Moved by: Trevor Irwin

Seconded by: John Stock CARRIED

### **Treasurer's Report and Annual Financial Statements:**

Copies of the financial statement for the year ending 30 June 2022 were available on arrival. Alaina Goulding spoke to the financial accounts.

**Resolution:** That the financial statements for the year ending 30 June 2022, be received.

Moved by: Alaina Goulding

Seconded by: Trevor Irwin CARRIED

#### **Election of Committee Members:**

The following members are due for re-election as they have held office for a period of two years:

- Ewen Fraser
- Alaina Goulding
- Trevor Irwin
- Robyn Kehoe
- Lynley Twyman

A resignation has been received from Bruce Maunsell.

In accordance with the constitution, the following nominations were received within five days of the Annual General Meeting being held:

Member	Nominated By	Seconded by
Ewen Fraser	Trevor Irwin	Robyn Kehoe
Alaina Goulding	Trevor Irwin	Robyn Kehoe
Trevor Irwin	Robyn Kehoe	John Stock
Robyn Kehoe	Trevor Irwin	John Stock
Lynley Twyman	Trevor Irwin	Robyn Kehoe

**Resolution:** That the following members be re-elected on to the committee:

Ewen Fraser Alaina Goulding Trevor Irwin Robyn Kehoe

Lynley Twyman CARRIED

The Chair took nominations from the floor for Iwi Representatives:

**Resolution:** That the following iwi representatives be elected on to the committee:

Arthur Tane — Ngati Te Ihingarangi Christaan Burgess - Ngati Raerae Moved by: Frances Rata-Hughes

Seconded by: Lynley Twyman CARRIED

**Resolution:** That the following iwi representative be elected on to the committee:

Frances Rata-Hughes – Ngati Rereahu

Moved by: Robyn Kehoe Seconded by: Trevor Irwin

**CARRIED** 

As Frances Rata-Hughes preference was to be the Ngati Rereahu Iwi Representative, this meant there is a vacancy for another Committee Member to reach the maximum of 11 Committee Members.

The Chair took nominations from the floor for the vacant position on the Committee. Russell Malone expressed an interest in coming on to the Committee.

**Resolution:** That Russell Malone be elected on to the committee.

Moved by: Robyn Kehoe

Seconded by: Guy Whitaker CARRIED

### **General Business:**

#### • Timber Trail Champion

Lynley Twyman gave a verbal update on the Timber Trail.

User numbers for the year were low due to covid restrictions.

The Department of Conservation has employed Jessie Sinnamon as Timber Trail Project Leader. Jessie will be their representative on the committee going forward.

Mike Burgess has done a great job on the maintenance of the trail from the spiral to the forestry road section.

Thanks to Bill Holloway for all his work on the trail prior to June.

This report was followed by a general discussion on areas of the track that may need some maintenance.

### Safety Management

Russell Malone raised that an extraction of a rider had taken place on the previous Friday evening.

Jessie advised that the Department of Conservation is working on an Emergency Response Management Plan for the Timber Trail. It is currently in draft form with the Waikato District Co-ordinator. It includes liaison with Search & Rescue, NZ Police and consultation with the various affected parties. It includes e-bike safety, a risk register and personal responsibility.

# Weather Forecasting System

This system is currently being provided by NIWA. To be discussed further in our Committee meeting.

Frances closed the meeting with a Karakia.

The meeting closed at 10.55am.

Signed by the Chair:	
Date:	